Connect with us



2023 Las Vegas Sun Standout Awards Show at The South Point

Christopher DeVargas

Coaches Zach Hocker and Jacob Rollans make a few remarks on behalf of SLAM Nevada Wrestling as they are presented with the award for Team of the Year during the Las Vegas Sun Standout Awards at the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa, Monday May 23, 2023.

There’s dominance, and then there’s what SLAM Nevada did on the wrestling mat this year.

At the Nevada Class 5A tournament, five SLAM wrestlers were crowned state champions, with Josiah Maestas (113 pounds), Drake Hoolman (120 pounds), Brenden Agcaolli (126 pounds), Manuel Saldate (132 pounds) and Gabriel Delgado (157 pounds) all emerging victorious.

The final tally saw SLAM claim the team title—its second straight—by more than 30 points.

According to coach Zach Hocker, the team was driven by its work ethic. “They love the sport,” Hocker said, “so they do the work because they want to be better.”

For the season, the Bulls recorded 379 pins, which set a new Nevada state record. Delgado pointed to the chemistry among his teammates as the reason for SLAM’s success.

“When we work as hard as we do every day in the room, we build a bond with each other,” Delgado said. “And that bond goes to tournaments and we get stronger as we help each other and support each other.”


• Centennial girls basketball: Took home an eighth straight state championship while going undefeated against local competition.

• Faith Lutheran girls soccer:Prevented opponents from scoring a single goal at the state tournament including in a 1-0 state championship victory over Coronado to avenge losses in last year’s title game and this year’s regional championship.

• Palo Verde boys tennis:Won the state championship with ease while going undefeated with a set of reserves many said could have made up the second-best team in the state behind their starters.

This story appeared in Las Vegas Weekly.

Article written by #LasVegasSun

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Follow Us